Travel: Higashiyama Zoo

Last weekend, i visited the Higashiyama Zoo, which is about 30 minutes away from my house. The animals were captivating and I enjoyed getting to see them, but the experience was also very uncomfortable because everyone there was staring at me. I began to feel like an animal myself, and the last straw was someone taking a picture OF ME. I was so stunned I didn’t know what to do and how to react, but I was so angry afterward, I left. I know living abroad can be a dream for many but being a woman of color, especially a black woman, I feel so out of place and isolated sometimes. I’m taking living in Japan as a learning experience that I know will make me stronger for my future wherever I end up. Anyway, here are some pics of the lovely animals!

-PW

p1020443p1020469p1020463p1020459p1020454p1020422p1020429p1020448p1020477

Leave a Reply

