3 Reasons I Cut my Hair

On March 11th, I did something I had been dreading for months: Cutting all of my hair off. I was very apprehensive about this because I have been conditioned to think short hair is “mannish” and I had never thought I would look good with it. But alas, I’m getting older and starting to disregard tired standards of beauty and the irrelevant opinions others may have about my appearance. This led me to going to a salon and cutting off most of my hair. At first glance of myself after the finished product, I was horrified; I immediately felt completely unattractive but over the next few days these feelings subsided and I began to embrace the new look. I think it brings me a new edge and my face is the first thing you see :). Anyway lets get into the reasons:
1) It was severely uneven: There were parts of my hair that were past my shoulder and others that were two inches long. The excess just had to go

2) I wanted to have a hairstyle that would easily fit under my wig: I am getting a wig made for my new job in Japan and having to learn how to cornrow my own hair was going to be too difficult due to the unevenness of my hair so I decided cutting was the best decision.

3) Lastly I wanted to try something new. I wanted to be able to wear my natural hair (just to be clear I have been natural since I was 17) and for it to look neat and like I had an actual hairstyle. Before my hair looked unkempt and oddly shaped (in its wash and go state) but it feels great having all my hair the same length

Anyway I’m still getting used to it but I’m really starting to like it and I’m glad that I don’t feel the need to hide behind extensions. Check out some photos of my new hair below!

-PW

   
    
   

4 thoughts on “3 Reasons I Cut my Hair

Leave a Reply

